What is gluten?

Gluten is a vegetable protein that’s found in a large number of cereals, such as wheat, barley, rye, spelt, oats, kamut and their derivatives. Celiac sufferers and those who are gluten sensitive or intolerant must completely eliminate this protein from their diet, since their organism identifies it as a toxic substance, triggering a series of pathological symptoms.

Gluten is much used in the food industry for making doughs, bread and pastries, since it offers great elasticity and is a very cheap protein. Gluten is also present in certain medicines, which means that celiac sufferers must always check the list of ingredients.